Good Night

I lie awake at night thinking about how tired I am and how tired I’ll be tomorrow.

I toss and turn, telling myself to go to sleep.

Count sheeps, maybe that’ll help.

I get to 419 and I’m nowhere close to the sweet slumber that my body longs for.

I toss and turn again.

Maybe I should stop thinking.

The more I thought about stopping my thoughts, the more I thought of all the thoughts.

The word ‘thought’ sounds weird to me now.

I say it out loud. “Thought”.

Maybe I should try writing.

I open my laptop and type:

‘I lie awake at night thinking about how tired I am and how tired I’ll be tomorrow.’

I feel my eyes getting heavier.

It’s working.

I see that I’m no longer able to think straight.

My fingers don’t know what they’re doing anymore.

It’s time.

I close my laptop.

I close my eyes.

3, 2, 1.

Dreaming…

FLASH!

The lights are switched on.

I open my eyes to see my wasted sister, home from her late night out.

I angrily tell her to turn the lights off.

 

 

 

 

I’m awake again.

Leave a Reply

